CC12.jpg

Who We Are

Children's Centre Thunder Bay leads the way for children and youth to improve their quality of life.


We are an accredited team of respected professionals working in collaboration with families, caregivers and partners to achieve the best possible outcomes for children and youth.

Under the governance of a volunteer Board of Directors, our Management Team provides leadership to more than 150 professionals from fields such as social work, psychology, early childhood education, speech and language, developmental services and nursing.


As a team, we have a shared commitment to service excellence in prevention, treatment, research, and educational programs that improves the quality of life for children and youth.


Meet our Management Team:

Diane Walker

Chief Executive Officer

dwalker@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5006


John Friday

Vice President

  • Risk Management
  • Health and Safety
  • Human Resources
  • Finance & Accounting
  • Information Services
  • Property & Maintenance

jfriday@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5069


Terra Lofts

Director, Service Planning and Developmental Services

tlofts@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5018


Joni Nelson

Director, Child and Youth Mental Health Services

    jnelson@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5088


    Fred Schmidt

    Director, Clinical Development, Evaluation, & Research

    • Performance Measurement
    • Program Evaluation
    • Research
    • Psychology
    • Learning Assessments

    fschmidt@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5016


    Chris McCarthy

    Director, Data, Information Technology, and Communications

    cmccarthy@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5044


    Tanya MacLeod

    Manager, Human Resources

    • Human Resources
    • Hiring
    • Employee Wellness

    tmacleod@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5050


    Darlene Niemi

    Manager, Engagement, Planning, and Quality

    • Quality Assurance
    • Family Engagement
    • CYMH - Community Planning

    dniemi@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-626-0308


    Dave Villella

    Manager, School Services

    • School Social Work
    • Day Treatment

    dvillella@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5039


    Renee Monsma

    Manager, Infant & Child Services

    • Preschool Mental Health Services

    rmonsma@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5076


    Lisa Joubert

    Manager, Youth Services

    • Intake
    • Access Network
    • First Connection (Brief Services)
    • While You Wait
    • Youth Mental Health (Counselling & Therapy)

    ljoubert@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5047


    Marinna Read

    Manager, Adolescent Services

    • Adolescent Mental Health (Counselling & Therapy)
    • Youth Engagement/New Mentality
    • Youth Justice
    • U-TURN
    • Oshkiniikidjig Miikanens (Cultural Group)

    mread@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5027

    Laura Meisner

    Manager, Healthy Child Development & Autism Services

    • Pre-School Speech & Language
    • Blind-Low Vision & Infant Hearing
    • Autism Assessment

    lmeisner@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5094


    Scott McBean

    Manager, Child Care Services and Coordinated Service Planning

    • Special Needs Resource Program
    • Pre-School Assessment & Consultation
    • Coordinated Service Planning
    • Complex Special Needs

    smcbean@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5019


    Angela Hill

    Manager, Live-In Treatment Services & Supervised Access

    • Short Term Assessment and Treatment Unit
    • Supervised Access Program
    • Walk-In Clinic

    ahill@childrenscentre.ca T: 807-343-5008